17 Days Wild

My friends are always telling me how great my memory is and are astonished by my ability to retell a story or retrace my steps back to a certain location after we’ve walked off the beaten track but in all honesty the one thing I am finding hard about this experience is going back to fill in all the blanks when I’ve missed writing down my activity for the days. I’m glad to say that I have made it to half way through my wild experience having achieve at least one experience for each day. I have also found myself becoming more focused, balancing my work with PCQ Arts, family life and wildlife aims.

I spent last night on Cox Tor conducting a Mountain Rescue nav ex, I was being mentored on reading the lie of the land but spent an extraordinary amount of time discussing wildflowers with Colin, the oldest member of our team. I respect Colin immensely for his seemingly encyclopædic knowledge of Dartmoor and was impressed by his recollection of not only Latin names but also mediæval medicinal applications.

One of my favourite was Sundrew (Drosera rotundifolia), found typically around Sphagnum mosses in boggy areas such as Dartmoor and heathlands, the family are insectivores with hair-like tendrils tipped with glistening droplets attract passing insects. The ‘dew’ is very sticky and when the sundew’s tendrils detect the presence of prey, it curls them inwards, trapping the insect.

During the 12th century the plant was prescribed to treat whooping cough and bronchitis, as well as as a yellow dye and for the production of sundrew liqueur.

Today members of the family can be found in nantech labs being tested for its remarkable elastic properties in relation to tissue engineering.

17 Days Wild

One thought on “17 Days Wild

  1. Thank you for every other informative website. Where else could I get
    that type of information written in such an ideal manner?
    I’ve a project that I’m simply now working on, and I have been at
    the glance out for such info.

Leave a Reply

