Nuthatch (sitta europeae)

Birds of Burrator Reservoir

I adore photographing wildlife, although it is a very different technique to my usual landscape microadventure photography I never passup the opportunity to photography wildlife, this weekend I was lucky enough to be able to photograph 4 species of native British Birds including Britain’s National bird the Robin (pictured below).

Robin redbreast rithacus rubecula
Robin redbreast (Rithacus rubecula)
Robin redbreast (rithacus rubecula)
Robin redbreast (Rithacus rubecula)

Like all good photography this was by no means by chance, a couple of weekends ago I wrote a blogpost entitled Norsworthy Bridge and Down Tor circle Dartmoor Microadventure where I posted a photograph of the first nuthatch I had ever seen, in fact there were in fact a pair of them. Last Friday I decided to return to the exact with the specific aim of photographing the pair.

Nuthatch (sitta europeae)
Nuthatch (Sitta europeae)
Nuthatch (sitta europeae)
Nuthatch (Sitta europeae)

Whilst I was there I discovered that the location was also ideal to capture a range of slightly more common ‘gardens birds’ including multiple species of tits.

Great tit (Parus major)
Great tit (Parus major)
Blue Tit Cyanistes caeruleus
Blue Tit (Cyanistes caeruleus)
One thought on “Birds of Burrator Reservoir

Leave a Reply

