Fun Fact: Rabbit meat can kill you.

Survivalist and Preppers, Bushcrafters and people who simply like being in the outdoors, it’s all the rage learning to live off the land. Some people simply have gardens or allotments, maybe a hobby farm but there are those who take it a little further and want the knowledge of surviving the wilderness. Perhaps they are paranoid of the apocalypse, terrified of being in a plane crash, an inquisitive botanist or have romantic notions of wanting to be a Native American or Aborigines (with the way Europeans have treated such cultures and continue to treat them, seems almost a little disrespectful.

My interest? Perhaps I’m a little bit of all of them. What if Ed Miliband is the next Hitler and calls for a final solution on my ethnicity; I do enjoy travelling to relatively remote regions of the world for simple holidays and even when I’m at home I seek the desolate; I might be able to walk through a garden centre or stately home with not much more than a genuine and heartfelt ‘that’s nice’ but I obsess about native flora. Perhaps my upbringing in a culture that can thrive even in poverty due to resourcefulness and, in the past most definitely but maybe less so now, knowledge of the land has given me an appreciation and desire for retaining that relationship with the changing seasons.

I consume a vast amount of knowledge on native plants and herbs, hunting, falconry, tracking, army survival, bushcraft and even Lewis Dartnell’s Thought Experiment ‘The Knowledge: How to rebuild our World from Scratch’. It’s not necessarily a special interest as I read a lot of text on a range of different topics, although more or less science related.

I feel my biggest ‘liability’ in life, aside from my vagina, is my fishtank. Most pets and family members can be moved – finding a place to rent with a dog is indeed definitely hard work being why I don’t have one but that’s not really what I mean. It’s hard to move a fishtank and essentially it’s mere decoration that will break your heart when you have to leave it behind. A dog, especially the types of dog I enjoy, can be an asset in a survivalist situation – they can also be just another mouth to feed or so too would be most people’s other family members.

I’m merely an armchair enthusiast but I can’t help but think like it as I always have. I’d even like to get more practical experience again.

An interesting fact I learnt from SAS Survival Handbook is that you can starve from eating rabbits. The meat lacks essential vitamins and minerals that not only does the body need to survive but it actually uses them up in the digestion of the meat so even if you are sat on top of an abundance and eating well (from rabbit) you can, and will, still starve.10403535_10154444353565501_2731422886729418487_n

 

Leave a Reply

