Realistic New Years Resolution

I find the concept of a New Years Resolution a little amusing, it’s true what they say that you do not need a specific date to try to be a better person but I think this time of year it’s good to take stock of things and, like the Japanese, have a good new year’s ousouji (spring clean).

There are many aspects of my life, many skills and experiences that I would like to build upon  to improve myself as a filmmaker and ultimately become of far greater assistance to my production team.  I could begin to list a multitude of things that I am now going to achieve that so far have alluded me but I don’t think that’s the way to go about it.

A far better solution would be to evaluate the situation as a whole. Assess where I am today, my strengths and utilisable skills, and where I would like to be realistically within a given time frame.  Formulating a plan calculating how I can evolve what I already have into a form I feel is more desirable, be that by further practice, tutorage or contemplation.

I feel that goals are more achievable when our situation, the context of our present, is full realised so that we do not struggle towards our desires from a fresh start but instead build upon a network of skills and experiences that we have already developed and invested countless hours into.

My ultimate goal, as I may have already mentioned, is to become a better filmmaker.  With such a large goal I believe I could be excused for feeling a little anxious but I’m not for I understand that before I start asking how to become a better filmmaker I must first ask myself what exactly I believe makes a good filmmaker and how I can utilise my skills to move forward towards this view of myself as a better filmmaker.

But am I not forgetting something, what if when I am developing this image of myself as a personal filmmaking archetype I uncover areas of importance that I have previously highlighted as weaknesses, areas where I feel I have no skills to build upon, of course that’s ridiculously because this is exactly what transferable skills are for.

I have a belief about weaknesses, I believe that they can for the most part be split into two categories – one for areas of current weaknesses that can be improved upon realistically with a little diligence and determination, and one for areas that either cannot be drastically improved or would require such substantial energy that focusing on these areas might put more worthwhile developments in jeopardy, in less dramatic words they’re more trouble than they are worth. This second set should not be written off as failures but wherever possible turned into positives, either in their own right or as an ‘x is my weakness but it has allowed me to become very good at y’. Both are very important and should not be overlooked.

How exactly does this help me, or you. I’m not sure exactly but I think I’m going to try working on that spider diagram and where it gets me.

Leave a Reply

